expand Logo for Company News

ohnson & Johnson made headlines in a lot of unique and impactful ways in 2017, including the announcement of our acquisition of Actelion and the launch of the GenH Challenge, a global social venture competition dedicated to finding solutions for some of the world's toughest health problems.

$1M
Donation Johnson & Johnson made to Save the Children for hurricane relief

The company also made industry-leading news when it announced that it was expanding its parental leave benefits—by the end of 2017, Johnson & Johnson employees across the globe were eligible to take a minimum of eight weeks of paid parental leave for birth and adoption—and its military leave benefits. Employees who serve are now eligible to receive their full salary, in addition to what the military pays, while deployed.

These are just some of the ways that the purpose driven company is committed to honoring Our Credo and helping reshape health for humanity—and it is work that is being recognized widely. In 2017, Johnson & Johnson was named to the Fortune Change the World list and Fortune's Most Admired Companies list. And those are just two highly respected recognitions bestowed upon the company last year.

Actelion brings to Johnson & Johnson a best-in-class, paradigm-shifting portfolio of medicines that can help address an important medical need: pulmonary arterial hypertension. Identifying medicines that are going to help slow down the progression of the disease, improve patient quality of life and hopefully extend life is a very important mission.

Check Out Our Great Company News From 2017

Making a Difference By Being a MAKER: 3 Johnson & Johnson Leaders Who Are Helping Women Excel

The MAKERS program recognizes women who go above and beyond to make a difference through their work—and mentorship of future leaders.

Johnson and Johnson Credo Wall

Johnson & Johnson Named a 2017 Fortune's Most Admired Company

A commitment to health, caring and employee growth helps make the company so great—and so great to work for.

A photo of Alex Gorsky with text "gen H Challenge"

Johnson & Johnson Wants to Tap Innovators Worldwide to Help Create the Healthiest Generation

Through the GenH Challenge, the company is inviting big thinkers and entrepreneurs to help change the global trajectory of healthcare.

A photo of Alex Gorsky and Chris Serafin shaking hands

How Johnson & Johnson Is Leading When It Comes to Military Leave Benefits for Employees

The company has a legacy of supporting members of the armed forces. In 2017, it expanded its military leave benefits for employees who serve.

Johnson & Johnson's new museum at its world headquarters in New Jersey

130 Years of Healthcare Innovation at Johnson & Johnson

To celebrate the debut of its new museums—a physical space at world headquarters and a virtual site—we're spotlighting some of the ways the company has helped reinvent healthcare.

A photo of the Actelion Research Center

6 Questions Investors May Have About Johnson & Johnson's Acquisition of Actelion

Joaquin Duato shares how the transaction will help expand the company's portfolio of transformational therapies.

A photo of a scientist in a lab

Johnson & Johnson Moves Up Eight Spots on the Gartner Top 25 Supply Chain Index

The company's supply chain division was honored in 2017 by a leading research and advisory firm.

Rachana Acharya

6 Employees Share How Parental Leave Helped Them Embrace Parenthood

Welcoming a baby is life-changing. To help with the joyous transition, Johnson & Johnson expanded its parental leave offerings in 2017.

A photo of Alex Gorsky and Pat Gorksy with mMitra families in India

Johnson & Johnson Makes Fortune's 2017 Change the World List

The company nabbed the #9 spot in 2017 for helping to decrease mother and baby mortality rates in India through the mMitra program.

A collage of Sandi Peterson and Jennifer Taubert

Johnson & Johnson Leaders Make Fortune's 2017 Most Powerful Women List

Group Worldwide Chair Sandi Peterson and Company Group Chairman, Pharmaceuticals, The Americas Jennifer Taubert were honored in 2017.

A photo of a woman leading a meeting

Johnson & Johnson Makes the 2017 Thomson Reuters Diversity & Inclusion Index

The company came in at #2 on the list of the 100 most diverse and inclusive workplaces.

Two children hugging after Hurricane Maria

Johnson & Johnson Donates $1 Million to Save the Children to Help With Hurricane Relief

The contribution supports aid on the ground and long-term programs for the youngest victims of Hurricanes Harvey, Irma and Maria.

A photo of Johnson & Johnson’s Center for Device Innovation

Johnson & Johnson Debuts Its New Center for Device Innovation

The innovation hub is equipped with such cutting-edge amenities as virtual operating rooms—and is helmed by a surgeon and medical device entrepreneur.

A photo of a military couple holding hands

How Johnson & Johnson Is Helping Support Service Members Through the New #BeThere Campaign

The company is doing its part to help prevent veteran suicide through a new social media campaign and public service announcement.

A photo of a woman opening two glass doors

Johnson & Johnson Named to Glassdoor’s List of Best Places to Work

The company nabbed a top spot on the annual list—based entirely on positive reviews from its own employees.

February 5, 2017

February 16, 2017

Johnson and Johnson Credo Wall

March 13, 2017

A photo of Alex Gorsky with text "gen H Challenge"

April 27, 2017

A photo of Alex Gorsky and Chris Serafin shaking hands

April 30, 2017

Johnson & Johnson's new museum at its world headquarters in New Jersey

May 16, 2017

A photo of the Actelion Research Center

May 25, 2017

A photo of a scientist in a lab

June 13, 2017

Rachana Acharya

September 7, 2017

A photo of Alex Gorsky and Pat Gorksy with mMitra families in India

September 21, 2017

A collage of Sandi Peterson and Jennifer Taubert

October 10, 2017

A photo of a woman leading a meeting

October 19, 2017

Two children hugging after Hurricane Maria

November 8, 2017

A photo of Johnson & Johnson’s Center for Device Innovation

November 9, 2017

A photo of a military couple holding hands

December 6, 2017

A photo of a woman opening two glass doors
expand Logo for Health for Humanity

ohnson & Johnson's public commitment to improving the world we live in dates as far back as the 1970s, when the company's mission statement, Our Credo, was updated to include this tenet: "We are responsible to the communities in which we live and work and to the world community as well."

Starting in 2010, the company has been setting public Citizenship and Sustainability goals every five years—and tracking the progress made toward them.

16
Number of company goals in the Health for Humanity 2020 Goals

In 2016, Johnson & Johnson launched a new set of five-year objectives, known as the Health for Humanity 2020 Goals, which include providing better access to healthcare worldwide, making the places we live and work in healthier, and teaming up with partners to achieve these commitments. To help showcase the strides made toward achieving these new goals in 2017, the company debuted a new 2016 Health for Humanity Report.

From a new coalition aimed at helping to advance vaccine development for pathogens to a unique tool that enables the company to make products that are kinder to the planet, we explore the many ways Johnson & Johnson is focused on changing the trajectory of human health for the better.

Learn about the company's Health for Humanity 2020 Goals, which include making the places we live and work healthier.

As the world’s largest, most broadly based company focused on human health, Johnson & Johnson is uniquely positioned to take a holistic, people-centric approach to human health—one where a healthy mind, body and environment are within reach for everyone, everywhere.

Check Out the Many Ways We Helped Improve Health for Humanity in 2017

A photo of a nurse holding a vaccine vial

What You Need to Know About the Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations

The Chief Medical Officer for Global Public Health discusses a new coalition aimed at helping to advance vaccine development for pathogens.

A photo of Joanne Waldstreicher

How Johnson & Johnson Is Helping Patients Through Compassionate Use

Joanne Waldstreicher, M.D., discusses how the company has been working to improve how very sick patients may apply for access to investigational medications.

A photo of a pharmacist holding a bottle of medicine

Janssen Pharmaceuticals Releases a 2016 U.S. Transparency Report

Jennifer Taubert, Company Group Chairman, Pharmaceuticals, The Americas, explains why Janssen is sharing information around its medication pricing and other business practices.

A photo of Francoise Nibizi distributing Agateka pads to students

Meet the Winners of the Johnson & Johnson Africa Innovation Challenge

From helping stop the spread of disease in public bathrooms in Uganda to supporting local farmers in Liberia, these savvy troubleshooters have devised simple healthcare solutions with serious impact.

A photo of a mosquito

Unseen Enemy: The New Film That Looks at Why Viruses Are So Prevalent

The documentary, presented by Johnson & Johnson, looks at how our modern lifestyle may be responsible for perpetuating these lethal viruses—and how everyday citizens can fight back.

Doctor with female patient

How Johnson & Johnson Is Helping Save Children From Intestinal Worm Infections

For the fifth anniversary of the London Declaration, we shared how the company has fulfilled its promise to fight neglected tropical diseases.

A photo of people practicing yoga

How Johnson & Johnson Is Helping China Give Birth to Its Healthiest Generation Yet

With the debut of the GenH Challenge, Michael Sneed discusses how the company is helping improve the lives of the country's 1.3 billion citizens.

A landscape of a lake and mountains

How Our Health for Humanity 2020 Goals Can Help Improve the World

With the release of the 2016 Health for Humanity Report, two leaders reflect on how we're providing better access to healthcare—and making the places we live healthier.

Sun shining through tree branches

Earthwards®: A Program Helping to Create a More Sustainable World

The program, aimed at designing more eco-friendly company products, celebrated a significant milestone in 2017. We look at what it takes for a product to carry the Earthwards® stamp.

A photo of a scientist looking at a microscope

4 Amazing Men and Women at the Forefront of HIV Work

As the International AIDS Society Conference on HIV Science kicked off in Paris, we profiled researchers who've dedicated their life's work to tackling the epidemic in groundbreaking ways.

A photo of Sandi Peterson and other people in Mumbai, India

Why Corporate Citizenship Is More Important Than Ever

Johnson & Johnson received a Corporate Citizenship Award from the Committee for Economic Development—which speaks to its commitment to health for humanity.

An infographic for HIV/AIDS

6 Surprising Things You May Not Know About HIV/AIDS Today

In time for the Global Citizen Festival, we looked at how far we've come since the disease was first discovered in 1983—and what still needs to be done to #makeHIVhistory.

A photo of a school of fish underwater

This Johnson & Johnson Patent Holder Is Helping to Save the Planet

Robert Predale co-developed GAIA—a unique tool that enables the company to make products that are kinder to the planet.

A photo of a baby in a blue box

Inventions That Can Help Give Babies a Healthier Start in Life

Imagine: a diaper that can detect type 1 diabetes and a baby box that can help improve infant sleep. It’s all possible, thanks to these visionaries.

6 Super Sustainable Johnson & Johnson Sites Around the World

When you're a global company, you have to think big when it comes to reducing your impact. Big ideas like harnessing geothermal energy from miles below the earth.

January 22, 2017

A photo of a nurse holding a vaccine vial

February 2, 2017

A photo of Joanne Waldstreicher

February 27, 2017

A photo of a pharmacist holding a bottle of medicine

March 30, 2017

A photo of Francoise Nibizi distributing Agateka pads to students

April 5, 2017

A photo of a mosquito

April 21, 2017

Doctor with female patient

May 2, 2017

A photo of people practicing yoga

June 25, 2017

A landscape of a lake and mountains

July 4, 2017

Sun shining through tree branches

July 19, 2017

Scientist looking in microscope

September 15, 2017

A photo of Sandi Peterson and other people in Mumbai, India

September 20, 2017

An infographic for HIV/AIDS

September 25, 2017

A photo of a school of fish underwater

December 14, 2017

A photo of a baby in a blue box

March 13, 2018

expand Logo for Innovation

nnovation is at the heart of what we do at Johnson & Johnson, whether it's tapping the powers of the immune system to fight diseases in novel ways or reshaping medical care through groundbreaking 3-D printing technology.

5
Johnson & Johnson Innovation, JLABS, celebrated this milestone birthday in 2017

In 2017, we explored the vast ways Johnson & Johnson's portfolio of operating companies and innovation centers are working to help improve health for humanity across a broad spectrum of health conditions, including schizophrenia, autism, oncology and autoimmune diseases, just to name a few.

There's also a lot of innovative medical device and health tech work taking place across the company. In 2017, we debuted our Health Partner suite of digital health tools at the Consumer Electronics Show—and unveiled the unified Johnson & Johnson Institute, which trains 125,000 healthcare providers annually at its 26 campuses around the globe.

In addition to helping advance healthcare solutions, Johnson & Johnson also has an equally important commitment to safety—evidenced by the impressive work our scientists are doing within our Consumer business and the forward-thinking ways our cybersecurity team helps keep patients safe.

A photo of Peter Lebowitz

We're looking for transformational drugs. If we can create a new drug that's only 10% better than what's already out there, we have not really transformed the treatment of the disease, or what the diagnosis means to the individual.

Check Out Our Great Innovation Stories From 2017

Runner holding knee

Health Partner: The Digital Tool That Can Help You Navigate Your Knee, Hip or Weight-Loss Journey

This new suite of digital tools was unveiled at the 2017 Consumer Electronics Show.

A photo of JLABS at TMC corridor in Houston, Texas

The JLABS Story

It's every start-up's dream to score the funding of a time-tested company and the agility of an incubator. On its fifth birthday, we delve into how Johnson & Johnson Innovation, JLABS, can help make that dream a reality.

A diagram of cancer cells

The Next Generation of Cancer Care

From "targeted therapies" to "precision immuno-oncology," the scientists at Janssen Oncology are looking at cancer treatment from all innovative angles.

A diagram of antibodies attacking antigens

How Surprising New Research Is Tapping the Powers of the Immune System

We spoke to Janssen scientists who are harnessing this vital defense system to fight diseases in ways you likely never imagined.

Sam Onukuri holding 3d Models

The Power of 3-D Printing: How This Technology Is Blazing New Frontiers

Sam Onukuri, head of Johnson & Johnson’s 3-D Printing Center of Excellence, shares why his work is so exciting and potentially life-changing for surgeons and patients alike.

A photo of a boy wearing blue headphones and looking out train window

5 Things We Now Know About Autism

It's a medical condition we've all heard of, but one that many of us may not fully understand. We talked to two leading autism experts to get the very latest facts—and dispel misconceptions.

An illustration of a brain

This Is Your Brain With Schizophrenia

Thanks to cutting-edge innovations in imaging, adherence and early intervention, mental health researchers are making crucial advances in the understanding and management of the complex condition.

A photo of the Neutrogena Light Therapy Acne Spot Treatment

Test-Driving the New Neutrogena Light Therapy Acne Spot Treatment

Breakouts aren't just for teens, which is why an acne-afflicted mother was the perfect candidate to try out a new device that uses light therapy to help make pimples heal faster.

A photo of a parent holding a baby wrapped in towel

"I'm a Mom Who Makes Products for Babies"

Who's more invested in kids' safety than parents? No one. That's what makes these safety scientists—who ensure the products they develop are good enough to use on their own kids—such powerhouses.

A photo of a person drinking coffee and looking at J&J Shine on their cell phone

3 Ways Johnson & Johnson Is Taking Talent Acquisition to the Next Level

The best way to attract top candidates? Evolve the hiring process with technology aimed at reinventing what it's like to apply for a job.

A photo of a person typing on a computer keyboard

4 Ways Johnson & Johnson Is Leading the Fight Against Cyberattackers

It sounds like something out of a movie, but cyberhacking is a real concern. We spoke to the company's cybersecurity team to learn what measures they're taking to help keep patients safe.

A photo of Travis Stiles

The Johnson & Johnson Under 40 to Watch List: 6 Trailblazing Scientists

These up-and-coming stars in oncology, immunology, anti-aging, vaccines and other areas of research are helping to change healthcare as we know it.

A photo of the Johnson & Johnson Institute in Irvine, California

The Johnson & Johnson Institute: A Program That Trains 125,000 Healthcare Providers Each Year

Specialty medical device training labs. An app that lets surgeons practice procedures via 3-D tech. Welcome to the Institute training program.

A photo of a person holding an MRI scan of a brain

3 Ways Researchers Are Rethinking Alzheimer's Disease

We sat down with scientists at Janssen Research & Development to learn how their work has the potential to alter the future of how we detect and treat the disease.

Digital Innovation

3 Ways Johnson & Johnson Is Harnessing Digital Innovation to Better Deliver Medications

We look at how the company is pioneering high-tech new strategies to perfect an age-old mandate: better anticipating and meeting customer demand.

January 6, 2017

Runner holding knee

January 31, 2017

A photo of JLABS at TMC corridor in Houston, Texas

February 12, 2017

A diagram of cancer cells

March 12, 2017

A diagram of antibodies attacking antigens

March 27, 2017

Sam Onukuri holding 3d Models

April 11, 2017

A photo of a boy wearing blue headphones and looking out train window

May 21, 2017

An illustration of a brain

June 29, 2017

A photo of the Neutrogena Light Therapy Acne Spot Treatment

August 24, 2017

A photo of a parent holding a baby wrapped in towel

August 29, 2017

A photo of a person drinking coffee and looking at J&J Shine on their cell phone

October 8, 2017

A photo of a person typing on a computer keyboard

October 29, 2017

A photo of Travis Stiles

November 1, 2017

A photo of the Johnson & Johnson Institute in Irvine, California

November 13, 2017

A photo of a person holding an MRI scan of a brain

March 13, 2018

Digital Innovation
expand Logo for Health & Wellness

ohnson & Johnson contributes a lot of innovative work when it comes to personal healthcare and wellness, from the cutting-edge studies company scientists are doing with infant massage and sleep to the energy-management research that's taking place at the Johnson & Johnson Human Performance Institute (HPI).

5
Research-proven ways massage can boost a baby's brain power and growth

In 2017, the company debuted its Le Petit Marseillais European line of scent-rich bath and body products in the U.S., as well as a new line of BAND-AID® Brand Skin-Flex™ bandages, with lightweight cross-fiber technology that allows for almost instant drying.

And the innovation doesn't just help people outside of the company—Johnson & Johnson is also invested in improving the lives of its 130,000+ employees through everything from forward-thinking office design to novel benefits like extended volunteer leave and breast milk shipping.

A photo of Kimberly Capone

We’ve been looking at how the skin microbiome evolves through life, and how our products, routines and rituals are compatible with that. Studies have found that the microbiome we have in adulthood doesn’t really change over time, so we want to make sure it starts out healthy very early in life.

Check Out Our Great Health & Wellness Stories From 2017

A photo of a lavender field

Secrets of a Scent Scientist: 6 Unique Fragrances That Can Boost Your Mood

Fig. Poppy. These are just some of the novel scents featured in the new Le Petit Marseillais line.

A photo of Megan Starshak running on trail

3 Stories of Unstoppable People Living with Autoimmune Diseases

An avid runner. A fireman. A college student. What they share in common may surprise you—and the battle to get their lives back after debilitating diagnoses will inspire you.

A photo of a box of Band-Aids

7 Things You May Not Know About BAND-AID® Brand Adhesive Bandages

Get up to speed on all sorts of cool facts about the iconic brand, which released a new Skin-Flex™ line of adhesive bandages in 2017.

A photo of an employee using a bicycle desk while on her laptop at the Johnson & Johnson office in Irvine, California

8 Innovative Office Perks Designed to Make You Happier at Work

We're taking you on a behind-the-scenes tour of some of Johnson & Johnson's most forward-thinking office spaces. A round of indoor golf, anyone?

An illustration of a mother massaging her baby

The Brain-Boosting Secret Every Parent of a Baby Should Know

Surprise: It's massage. Three experts share the latest findings on how infant massage has the power to do everything from help improve your baby's slumber to boost learning.

A photo of a woman applying face cream to her cheek

How the Microbiome Could Transform Your Skin in Surprising Ways

Hint: It has the potential to combat acne, eczema and more. Learn how Johnson & Johnson is harnessing the power of bacteria in innovative ways to help keep skin healthy—starting in infancy.

A photo of a woman's bare left shoulder

4 Truths People Living with Psoriasis Want Everyone to Know

We asked people living with psoriasis—including Scandal actress Katie Lowes—to tell us what they wish everyone knew about the autoimmune disorder.

An illustration of an eye for contact lens care

5 Things Your Contact Lenses Wish They Could Tell You

If your lenses could talk, they'd likely have a lot to say about how you're treating them—like these top tips for giving your contacts a little TLC.

An illustration of the lungs and heart

5 Things We Now Know About Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension

It's a deadly disease, but it can be managed—if you get a timely diagnosis. We're sharing what the latest science and research has revealed about PAH.

An illustration of the brain

6 Things We Now Know About Depression

It's a complicated illness, with no exact cause—but there is still a lot we understand now about depression, thanks to the work of dedicated scientists. We look at the facts, common misconceptions and research that's underway.

A photo of a women at a mechanical scale

6 Things We Now Know About Obesity

Over a third of Americans qualify as obese, but misconceptions abound as to what's causing the global health epidemic. We talked to obesity experts about the latest science-backed findings and current research underway.

A photo of parents with their son and dog

11 Employee Benefits That Help Make Johnson & Johnson a Great Company

Generous parental leave? Check. Pet insurance? Check. Here are some of the ways the company stands out when it comes to built-in benefits for its 130,000+ employees.

A photo of a woman jumping in front of a vibrant sunset

How to Manage Common Energy Pitfalls Every Decade of Your Life

All sorts of life experiences can sap your energy levels. We spoke to energy management pros at Johnson & Johnson about the most common life-stage stamina suckers and how to overcome them.

A photo of a doctor giving a flu vaccine to a smiling patient

5 Things to Know About This Year's Flu Shot

Is it too late to get one this year? Is there anyone who shouldn't get it? We answered these and other pressing questions about the vaccine for the 2017 flu season.

A photo of a person standing as the 1 in a big "2018" display

4 Total Wellness Resolutions for 2018 to Start Tackling Now

Resolutions aren't just for New Year's Eve. Whether you want to get healthier or propel your career forward, get started with advice from these Johnson & Johnson experts.

March 16, 2017

A photo of a lavender field

March 28, 2017

A photo of Megan Starshak running on trail

April 14, 2017

A photo of a box of Band-Aids

May 4, 2017

A photo of an employee using a bicycle desk while on her laptop at the Johnson & Johnson office in Irvine, California

June 12, 2017

An illustration of a mother massaging her baby

July 9, 2017

A photo of a woman applying face cream to her cheek

July 31, 2017

A photo of a woman's bare left shoulder

August 20, 2017

An illustration of an eye for contact lens care

September 28, 2017

An illustration of the lungs and heart

October 9, 2017

An illustration of the brain

October 10, 2017

A photo of a women at a mechanical scale

October 30, 2017

A photo of parents with their son and dog

November 2, 2017

A photo of a woman jumping in front of a vibrant sunset

December 3, 2017

A photo of a doctor giving a flu vaccine to a smiling patient

December 17, 2017

A photo of a person standing as the 1 in a big "2018" display
expand Logo for Caring & Giving

ohnson & Johnson's outreach to communities in need in 2017 included mobilizing quickly to distribute hygiene kits to those impacted by hurricanes, supporting longtime partner Save the Children with its resiliency work with Syrian refugee children and teaming up with Girl Up to bring the gift of education to girls in Guatemala.

25
Years Johnson & Johnson has supported educational STEM initiatives

And there's plenty more good works that took place in 2017 to help babies, children, women and underserved populations advance and thrive around the world, including our support of the One Young World Summit, an annual gathering where young leaders between the ages of 18 and 30 come to share their bright ideas for creating positive change.

We also took time to celebrate some pivotal programs we've supported that marked big milestones in 2017, including Bridge to Employment (BTE), which turned 25! What started as a U.S.-based program to provide high schoolers with meaningful educational experiences and career prep has expanded well beyond its domestic roots to encompass over 80 sites in more than 20 countries, including India, Israel, Mexico, South Africa and Spain.

A photo of Benjamin Davies

This is not a situation that is going away anytime soon. So in 2017, we decided to move from humanitarian support to longer-term health system strengthening. As such, we are focusing on building the resilience of Syrian refugee children and the communities in which they live.

Check Out Our Great Caring & Giving Stories From 2017

A photo of a nurse hugging a girl

4 Ways Johnson & Johnson Has Given Love to Nurses Who Give Love Every Day

As The Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future celebrated its 15-year anniversary, we profiled some of the nurses who've benefited from the initiative's programs.

Read the Story
A photo of Alice Lin Fabiano showing mMitra on a cell phone to two mothers in India

7 Women Who Are Helping to Change the World for Women

On International Women's Day, we interviewed inspiring Johnson & Johnson employees who work year-round to improve the health, safety and trajectory of women worldwide.

A photo of Reinhard Juraschek with children and a guitar in Guatemala

This Unique Johnson & Johnson Program Lets Employees Take Paid Time Off Work to Do Good

Four staffers who've taken advantage of the company's Extended Volunteer Leave Policy to help people in need share their stories.

A photo of a group from Bridge to Employment

Bridge to Employment: 25 Years of Helping Young People Excel

This Johnson & Johnson program pairs high school kids with local companies and institutes of higher learning to help set them up for success in the work world.

A photo of the aftermath of Tropical Storm Harvey

Johnson & Johnson Pledges Support for Hurricane Harvey Relief Efforts

The company mobilized to send thousands of hygiene kits and other aid to the region devastated by the storm.

A photo of people working with drones

4 Ways Johnson & Johnson Has Helped Cultivate Future STEM Leaders

Over the past 25 years, the company has created several programs specifically designed to help everyone from grade schoolers to women succeed in future STEM careers.

A photo of the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey

Disaster Modules: How a Single Kit Can Help Save Lives

Natural disasters can strike at any moment, devastating communities and healthcare systems—which is why Johnson & Johnson has disaster relief modules at the ready.

Young schoolgirls and members of Girl Up and UNFPA at a bike distribution in Guatemala

Bringing Hope to Girls in Guatemala, One Bicycle at a Time

Imagine walking miles just to get to school. For children living in some regions of Guatemala, it's a fact of life. But Girl Up and Johnson & Johnson are working together to change that.

A photo of two people holding hands

"I'm a Mom With HIV"

An HIV diagnosis can knock the wind out of you. Or it can inspire you to take action—as it did for these courageous women who shared their story at the United Nations General Assembly.

A photo of a mother teaching her son to ride a bicycle

6 Ways Johnson & Johnson Helps Keep Kids Safe

From safer product packaging to an initiative that helps refugees, these are just some of the ways the company has made it a mission to safeguard the well-being of children.

A photo of the aftermath of the 2017 Kos, Greece, earthquake

4 Customer Service Employees Who've Saved Lives

It's right in the company Credo: prioritize the needs of the people it serves. And the unsung heroes of the Customer & Logistics Services team truly bring this mission to life.

A collage of One Young World Leaders

8 One Young World Leaders Who Are Building a Brave New World

Cancer. HIV/AIDS. Ebola. These are just some of the causes these under-30 movers and shakers plan to impact with their bright ideas for change.

A photo of Asma and Ahmed at the Save the Children Learning Center in Mount Lebanon

How Johnson & Johnson Is Helping to Give Hope to Syrian Refugees

Save the Children has created unique education programs in Lebanon to help displaced refugee children thrive. We traveled to the region to tell the stories of these resilient kids and their families.

A photo of a baby sleeping

5 Ways Johnson & Johnson Helps Keep the Littlest Patients Safe

Every last patient is important to Johnson & Johnson. And that includes the tiniest ones of all: preemies and newborns.

A photo of two women and a baby

How Johnson & Johnson Is Helping Give Babies in Haiti a Safe Place to Sleep

Learn how the company teamed up with the United Nations Population Fund and The Baby Box Co. to turn a simple cardboard box into a game-changer for infants.

February 13, 2017

A photo of a nurse hugging a girl

March 7, 2017

A photo of Alice Lin Fabiano showing mMitra on a cell phone to two mothers in India

April 23, 2017

A photo of Reinhard Juraschek with children and a guitar in Guatemala

June 20, 2017

A photo of a group from Bridge to Employment

August 29, 2017

A photo of the aftermath of Tropical Storm Harvey

August 31, 2017

A photo of people working with drones

September 1, 2017

A photo of the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey

September 10, 2017

Young schoolgirls and members of Girl Up and UNFPA at a bike distribution in Guatemala

September 11, 2017

A photo of two people holding hands

September 19, 2017

A photo of a mother teaching her son to ride a bicycle

October 1, 2017

A photo of the aftermath of the 2017 Kos, Greece, earthquake

October 4, 2017

A collage of One Young World Leaders

October 17, 2017

A photo of Asma and Ahmed at the Save the Children Learning Center in Mount Lebanon

November 17, 2017

A photo of a baby sleeping

December 7, 2017

A photo of two women and a baby
expand Logo of Inspiring People

ver 130,000 people come to work every day across Johnson & Johnson's operating companies and innovation centers with one mission in mind: help change the trajectory of health for humanity.

26
Age of JLABS @ TMC incubatee CEO Jessica Traver

We couldn't do what we do without their passion for their work—passion that's the embodiment of what it means to bring Our Credo to life.

In 2017, we profiled many of these amazing employees, who are doing good for the world both at work and outside of it—along with some of the equally amazing patients who have benefited from their life-changing innovations.

At the end of the day, it's these people who make us all proud to work for Johnson & Johnson.

A photo of Cat Oyler

In many ways, our cars have better healthcare than we do. If we imagine a future in which we monitor and prevent issues, we can begin to transform human health.

Check Out Our Great Stories of Inspiring People in 2017

A photo of Abdullah Al Hommada with colleagues in Janssen's clinical immunology lab

"I Escaped War-Torn Syria"

Abdullah Al Hommada had no choice but to flee his country for a chance at a better future outside of Syria. Today, he's rebuilding his life in Leiden as a Janssen scientist.

A photo of scientists in a lab

How the Scientist Mentoring & Diversity Program Is Shaping Future STEM Leaders

We're spotlighting three graduates from the Johnson & Johnson-sponsored program—scientists who are influencing innovation across industries.

A photo of Dana Pelz

"How a Bone Marrow Transplant Saved My Life"

Dana Pelz was just about to start a job at Johnson & Johnson when she learned she had a life-threatening blood disorder. Today, she's thriving—and helping others get a chance at life through Be The Match.

A photo of Cat Oyler running outside

How an Employee's Health Scare Brought a Company Mission to Intercept Diseases to Life

When Cat Oyler discovered she'd been born with a heart condition that had gone undiagnosed, it hit home for her just how important her work was.

"We Had Bariatric Surgery"

Meet Stephen and Zohar, who elected to have bariatric surgery together and are now embracing their healthier—and combined 162-pounds-lighter—life.

engineers on a factory floor looking at a computer screen

Meet the Man Who Oversees the Making of Millions of Contact Lenses

Barry O’Sullivan heads up Johnson & Johnson's Visioncare plant in Ireland, which manufactures a global supply of Acuvue® contact lenses. Here's what it's like to oversee such a bustling business.

A photo of Anil Koul

Meet the Johnson & Johnson Scientist Who's Helping to Fight Tropical Diseases in His Homeland

Two decades after leaving India, Anil Koul has returned to helm its Institute of Microbial Technology.

A photo of Dan Rumple

“I Designed My Knee Replacement”

For Dan Rumple, a product designer at DePuy Synthes, knee pain made it impossible to even walk. Turns out, it was the very medical device he'd been working on that would help get him back on his feet.

A photo of Carmen and Mike with Road to Victories participants on a training ride

Meet the Husband-Wife Duo Racing Against the Clock to Find a Cure for Multiple Myeloma

Would you bike across states to fight cancer? What if you had the disease? For Carmen, who has multiple myeloma, it's not even up for discussion.

A photo of Jessica Traver

"I Want to Revolutionize Healthcare"

Just one in 10 start-ups will succeed—and Jessica Traver plans for hers to be that one. Over the next year, we'll follow her progress as an incubatee at JLABS @ TMC.

A photo of Amy Foley

Johnson & Johnson 2017 Working Mother of the Year: Amy Foley

It hasn't been an easy road for Foley. But by channeling personal challenges into something good, she's proven herself to be unstoppable—and an inspiration to everyone.

Flip Klein mountain biking in Utah

Meet the Wounded Veteran Who's Redefining Resilience

An accident in Afghanistan threatened to end Flip Klein's life. Today, he's thriving—and plans to pay it forward, thanks to a unique Johnson & Johnson partnership.

A photo of Philemon Padonou with CodeToHope children

Meet the Johnson & Johnson Engineer Who's Giving Back to His Home Country

Philemon Padonou overcame great obstacles to become a lead software engineer—a job that inspired him to start nonprofit CodeToHope.

A photo of Ilio and Fernando Salinas sharing a father-son moment at a baseball game

"I Adopted an Orphan With AIDS"

Shortly after Fernando Salinas took custody of 4-year-old Ilio, he discovered his son had full-blown AIDS. We're sharing his powerful story of hope, perseverance and unconditional fatherly love.

3 Employees Who Are Making a Difference in Their Communities

From acting as a “godmother” to refugee boys in Finland to spearheading a program to provide free 3-D printed hands to people in need in Asia, these employees are a force of good.

January 22, 2017

A photo of Abdullah Al Hommada with colleagues in Janssen's clinical immunology lab

February 19, 2017

A photo of scientists in a lab

March 5, 2017

A photo of Dana Pelz

April 4, 2017

A photo of Cat Oyler running outside

April 16, 2017

A photo of a man in a kitchen

May 28, 2017

engineers on a factory floor looking at a computer screen

June 6, 2017

A photo of Anil Koul

June 28, 2017

A photo of Dan Rumple

August 28, 2017

A photo of Carmen and Mike with Road to Victories participants on a training ride

October 15, 2017

A photo of Jessica Traver

October 22, 2017

A photo of Amy Foley

November 9, 2017

Flip Klein mountain biking in Utah

November 14, 2017

A photo of Philemon Padonou with CodeToHope children

November 30, 2017

A photo of Ilio and Fernando Salinas sharing a father-son moment at a baseball game

December 4, 2017

A photo of Kai Lei showing her 3-D printed left hand and natural right hand

More From Johnson & Johnson

This site uses cookies as described in our Cookie Policy. Please click the "Accept" button or continue to use our site if you agree to our use of cookies.
You are now leaving jnj.com. The site you’re being redirected to is a branded pharmaceutical website. Please click below to continue to that site.
Continue