Skip to content

Internet Explorer is no longer supported by this website.

For optimal browsing we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Heart icon (animated) heart icon (static)
2019 Dr. Paul Janssen Award
2019 Dr. Paul Janssen Award

Arthur Horwich, M.D.

Sterling Professor of Genetics and Professor of Pediatrics, Yale School of Medicine and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Dr. Arthur Horwich, a geneticist, received undergraduate and M.D. degrees from Brown University, trained in Pediatrics at Yale, was then a postdoctoral fellow first at Salk Institute in the Tumor Virology Laboratory, and then in Genetics at Yale, then joined the Yale faculty. His work was initially involved with protein import into mitochondria and resulted in discovery of a "folding machine" inside mitochondria, Hsp60. He has used genetic, biochemical, and biophysical tools to study the mechanism of action of these ring shaped so-called chaperonin machines that provide essential assistance to protein folding in many cellular compartments. More recently he has focused on neurodegenerative disease as caused by protein misfolding, seeking to understand how misfolded SOD1 enzyme in the cytosol of motor neurons leads to one form of ALS.

Honors and Recognition

  • 2019 Winner Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research (2019)
  • 2019 Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize (2019)
  • Honorary Doctorate of Medical Science, Brown University (2014)
  • Herbert Tabor Research Award of the ASBMB (2013)
  • Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine (2012)
  • Massry Prize, Massry Foundation (2011)
  • Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (2011)
  • National Lecture Biophysical Society (2011)
  • NIH Director's Lecture (2010)
  • Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Science (2008)
  • Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize (2008)
  • Institute of Medicine (2008)
  • Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences (2007)
  • Stein and Moore Award, Protein Society (2006)
  • Gairdner International Award (2004)
  • National Academy of Sciences (2003)
  • Hans Neurath Award, Protein Society (2001)
Established in 2004, the award celebrates today’s most dedicated researchers and champions of science whose basic or clinical discoveries have made, or have the potential to make, significant impact on human health.

Back to top
You are now leaving The site you’re being redirected to is a branded pharmaceutical website. Please click below to continue to that site.