heart iconheart icon
Health & Wellness
Announcing the 2010 Dr. Paul Janssen Award Winners

By Paul Stoffels, Global Head, Pharmaceuticals Research & Development, Johnson & Johnson 

This morning, Johnson & Johnson and an independent selection committee of world renowned scientists are proud to announce the winners of the 2010 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research

After careful review of more than 125 nominations of top scientists from 28 countries, the Selection Committee chose Dr. Erik De Clercq, Professor Emeritus, Rega Institute for Medical Research, Leuven, Belgium, and Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD.  Drs. De Clercq and Fauci were selected for their pioneering work in understanding and combating viral diseases, particularly HIV/AIDS.

Having personally worked with Dr. Paul on the research and development of treatments for people living with HIV/AIDS, I could not be more pleased with the Selection Committee’s decision.  When AIDS was discovered in the early 1980s, we didn’t understand the virus and had very few tools to help patients. While many challenges remain, thanks to breakthroughs by scientists like Dr. De Clercq and Dr. Fauci, as well as Dr. Paul and his team, many people with HIV are now able to live long and productive lives.

Dr. Paul, as he was known to us familiarly, was one of the most productive scientists of our day and a true inspiration. He helped save millions of lives through his contribution to the discovery and development of more than 80 medicines from a variety of fields, including psychiatry, pain and HIV/AIDS. 

The 2010 Award winners embody the leadership and passion of Dr. Paul.  They have dedicated their lives to better understanding and bringing solutions for many infectious diseases, particularly HIV/AIDS, and in that way have positively impacted the lives of millions of patients.

Through the Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research, we are pleased to recognize and reward their passion and creativity in biomedical science and to underscore Johnson & Johnson’s commitment to scientific excellence in the advancement of healthcare knowledge while fulfilling its responsibility in the community.

Click here to read more about the work of Dr. De Clercq and Dr. Fauci.

To learn more about The Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research, visit www.pauljanssenaward.com.  You can also view our posts on the 2008 and 2009 awards.