Skip to content

    Recently Viewed


      2019 Dr. Paul Janssen Award winners Arthur Horwich, M.D., (left) and Franz-Ulrich Hartl, M.D.

      Two scientists win the 2019 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for biomedical research

      Learn about the revolutionary work they’re both doing in the field of neurodegenerative disease that could prove important in fighting often-fatal conditions.

      Share Article
      share to

      Parkinson’s disease. Huntington’s disease. Lou Gehrig’s disease.

      It’s neurodegenerative illnesses like these that this year’s winners of the Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research are focusing their extraordinary talents on decoding.

      Franz-Ulrich Hartl, M.D., of the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Germany, and Arthur Horwich, M.D., of the Yale School of Medicine and Howard Hughes Medical Institute in the U.S., were chosen for the award based on their groundbreaking insights into a process called chaperone-mediated protein folding and its importance in cellular health—particularly in preventing proteins from aggregating in a way that could potentially lead to the fatal symptoms neurodegenerative diseases can cause.

      Dr. Hartl and Dr. Horwich join 16 scientists who’ve received the award to date, including three who ultimately went on to win the Nobel Prize.

      Honoring Scientific Pioneers Like Dr. Paul Janssen

      Johnson & Johnson created the award in 2004 to honor Paul Janssen, Ph.D., the innovative founder of what is now called the Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson.

      Each year, the award is given to the most passionate and creative scientist or scientists in basic or clinical research whose achievements have made, or have strong potential to make, a measurable impact on human health through the diagnosis, treatment or prevention of disease.

      Dr. Hartl and Dr. Horwich, who were selected by an independent committee of world-renowned researchers, join 16 scientists who’ve received the award to date, including three who ultimately went on to win the Nobel Prize.

      They’ll share a $200,000 cash prize to further their work and each receive a sculpture with an inspirational inscription of “What’s New?” It’s a nod to the question Dr. Paul, as he was affectionately known, asked daily in his lab to encourage his colleagues to seek new ways to help patients—and inspire the next big health breakthroughs.

      Along with David Julius, Ph.D., who won the Dr. Paul Janssen Award in 2013, Drs. Hartl and Horwich were also just honored with the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Life Science for the transformative advances they’ve made toward understanding living systems and extending human life.

      More from Johnson & Johnson

      Blue latex-gloved hands holding a beaker filled with yellow liquid

      IBD rates are rising in communities of color. Can these innovators help?

      Scientists aren’t sure what’s behind the upward trend. That’s why Johnson & Johnson Innovation put out the call to address this troubling health disparity.
      DNA illustration genetic material

      Harnessing the human genome is the future of healthcare—and Johnson & Johnson is helping lead the way

      The company’s partnership with the largest human genome sequencing project in the world will increase scientists’ understanding of genetic diseases and help create new interventions. Here, a look at the breakthroughs that have guided the understanding of the power of DNA.
      Health & wellness
      1123 BTN-Lung Cancer-Iede2.jpg
      Health & wellness

      By the numbers: Who gets lung cancer?

      Each year, more people die of lung cancer than colon, breast and prostate cancers combined. Learn how Johnson & Johnson is dedicated to improving outcomes by integrating the company’s MedTech and Innovative Medicine expertise.
      You are now leaving and going to a site with a different privacy policy. Please click below to continue to that site.